The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Oblong Books & Music - Rhinebeck
2 on hand, as of Jul 25 3:17am
(YOUNG ADULT (12+))
Oblong Books & Music - Millerton
3 on hand, as of Jul 25 5:54am
(YOUNG ADULT (12+))

Staff Reviews


A delightfully over-the-top, big, bold, brassy, sassy and ROMANTIC romp across Europe featuring Lust! Love! Art! Operettas! Pirates! Alchemy! Explosions! Befuddled Chaperones! Accidental Garden Nudity! And so much more. A Grand Tour to be savored.

— Jennifer

After being expelled from boarding school Monty's father sends him, his sister, Felicity and Monty's best friend, Percy on a final European tour before coming home to run his father's estate (the other two having their own similarly dismal fates). None of them expect what befalls them. What starts out as a controlled trip soon spins out of control when Monty steals a very important box from Versailles. Their planned route turns into a run for their lives and leads them to a sinking island, gambling halls and a pirate ship. They also learn more about each other than they ever thought. Wonderfully romantic, daring, satisfyingly defying and gender bashing, this historic tale is incredibly well-done! For fans of WONDERS OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD, A MADNESS SO DISCREET, the Jackaby series or anything Pirate-y, travelsom (new word) or romantic, better yet all 3!

— Melia

Description


A hilarious and swashbuckling stand-alone teen historical fiction novel, named one of summer's 20 must-read books by Entertainment Weekly

A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi Lee--Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry "Monty" Montague doesn't care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family's estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty's reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, dazzling, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is an irresistible romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062382801
ISBN-10: 0062382802
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Pages: 528
Language: English