Ask Me How I Got Here (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Ask Me How I Got Here Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Oblong Books & Music - Rhinebeck
1 on hand, as of Dec 11 8:45am
(YOUNG ADULT (12+))

Staff Reviews


A beautiful and heart wrenching look inside the experience of a teenage girl who has an abortion. Written in a series of poems, the lines read so smoothly that the reader will feel like they are on the other side of a window, looking in on Addie's hardship. From a gentle and touching first love, to an accidental pregnancy, then sadness of abortion, to the after effects of loss, Christine Heppermann explores a sensitive subject in a poignant and insightful way.

— Carissa

If you're looking for a character-driven verse novel where every word matters, ASK ME HOW I GOT HERE is the book for you. Addie runs - she's the best on her school's track team - but when she becomes pregnant and chooses to have an abortion, she discovers there are some things you can't run from. Heppermann doesn't pull back, delivering Addie's story like a poetic punch to the face. Not only is ASK ME HOW I GOT HERE perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins and Laurie Halse Anderson, but it's an important addition to the YA canon that will leave readers wanting more of Heppermann's incredible feminist work

— Nicole

Description


How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here.

Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend--her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend--are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that--even though she knows it was the right decision for her--nothing is the same. She doesn't want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn't want to run cross country anymore; she can't bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who's going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062387950
ISBN-10: 0062387952
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 240
Language: English