American Street (Hardcover)

American Street Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Oblong Books & Music - Rhinebeck
2 on hand, as of Dec 11 8:45am
(YOUNG ADULT (12+))
Oblong Books & Music - Millerton
2 on hand, as of Dec 11 8:45am
(YOUNG ADULT (12+))

Description


A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062473042
ISBN-10: 0062473042
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017
Pages: 336
Language: English