26 Main Street, Millerton, NY - (518) 789-3797

Montgomery Row, Rhinebeck, NY - (845) 876-0500

Hours      Join Our Email List      Twitter      Facebook





AUTHOR EVENT: Peter Stark - "Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival "

04/16/2014 7:00 pm

This event will be held at Oblong Books & Music, 6422 Montgomery St., Rhinebeck, NY.

Share this event on Facebook!

In 1810, John Jacob Astor sent out two advance parties to settle the wild, unclaimed western coast of North America. More than half of his men died violent deaths. The others survived starvation, madness, and greed to shape the destiny of a continent. In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. A harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

 “A page-turning tale of ambition, greed, politics, survival, and loss.”---Publishers Weekly

PETER STARK is an adventure and exploration writer. Born in Wisconsin, he studied English and anthropology at Dartmouth College, took a master’s in journalism from the University of Wisconsin, and headed off to the remote spots of the world writing magazine articles and books. A long-time correspondent for Outside magazine, Stark’s articles and essays have also appeared in Smithsonian, The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, Men’s Journal, and many others. His best-known book, Last Breath: Cautionary Tales from the Limits of Human Endurance, was translated into seven languages.

$27.99
ISBN-13: 9780062218292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press, 3/2014

Location: 
Street:
6422 Montgomery St., Suite 6
City:
Rhinebeck
,
Province:
New York
Postal Code:
12572-0482
Country:
United States