Hudson Valley YA Society: Barry Lyga, Amanda Maciel, Cristina Moracho & Ibi Zoboi

Event date: 
Sunday, April 30, 2017 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
Oblong Rhinebeck
6422 Montgomery Street
Rhinebeck, NY 12572
RSVP Requested
Eventbrite - Hudson Valley YA Society: Barry Lyga, Amanda Maciel, Cristina Moracho & Ibi Zoboi

Barry Lyga is the New York Times bestselling author of After the Red Rain, the I Hunt Killers trilogy, and his debut, The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl. In BANG Sebastian Cody did something horrible, something no one--not even Sebastian himself--can forgive. At the age of four, he accidentally shot and killed his infant sister with his father's gun. Unflinching and honest, BANG is a heartbreaking novel about living with your worst mistake. It's as true and as relevant as tomorrow's headlines, the story of one boy and one moment in time that cannot be reclaimed. Author Photo by Devon John Photography.

Amanda Maciel's LUCKY GIRL is an unflinching exploration of beauty, self-worth, and sexual assault. Rosie is a beautiful girl—and it’s always been enough. Boys crush on her, men stare at her, girls (begrudgingly) admire her. She’s lucky and she knows it. But it’s the start of a new school year and she begins to realize that she wants to be more. Maciel is also the author of TEASE which was her debut YA novel. Author Photo by Abby McAden.

Cristina Moracho's A GOOD IDEA has been described as “Sharp as a fistful of broken glass, dark and twisted as the woods at night...rural noir at its creepy, literary best." —Laura Ruby, National Book Award Finalist and Printz-winning author of Bone Gap. When Betty disappears. Her ex-boyfriend Calder admits to drowning her, but his confession is thrown out, and soon the entire town believes he was coerced and Betty has simply run away. Fin knows the truth, and she returns to Williston for one final summer, determined to get justice for her friend, even if it means putting her loved ones—and herself—at risk. Moracho is the author of Althea & Oliver which was awarded the Carole and Irwin Lainoff Award by acclaimed author Jim Shepard. She lives in Red Hook, Brooklyn, where she works as a freelance writer and editor, is teaching herself to play the guitar and writing her next novel. You can follow her on Twitter @cherielecrivain. Author Photo by Craig LaCourt.

Ibi Zoboi's AMERICAN STREET is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, EverythingBone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. Nicola Yoon (bestselling author of EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING) calls AMERICAN STREET “A poignant meditation on one girl’s struggle to find her way in a new world.” Ibi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti and immigrated to the U.S. when she was four years old. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she was a recipient of the Norma Fox Mazer Award. She lives in Brooklyn. Author Photo by Joseph Zoboi.

 

Bang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316315500
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 18th, 2017

Lucky Girl Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062305336
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - April 25th, 2017

A Good Idea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780451476241
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - February 28th, 2017

American Street Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062473042
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 14th, 2017