The Other Mother: A Novel (Paperback)

The Other Mother: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
Oblong Books & Music - Rhinebeck
6 on hand, as of Nov 16 3:45am
(MYSTERY)
Oblong Books & Music - Millerton
8 on hand, as of Nov 15 3:45am
(MYSTERY)

Description


“An atmospheric and harrowing tale, richly literary in complexity but ripe with all the crazed undertones, confusions, and forebodings inherent in the gothic genre. Recommend this riveting, du Maurier–like novel to fans of Jennifer McMahon.” Booklist (starred review)

From the author of the internationally bestselling The Lake of Dead Languages comes a gripping novel about madness, motherhood, love, and trust.

When Daphne Marist and her infant daughter, Chloe, pull up the gravel drive to the home of Daphne’s new employer, it feels like they’ve entered a whole new world. Tucked in the Catskills, the stone mansion looks like something out of a fairy tale, its lush landscaping hiding the view of the mental asylum just beyond its border. Daphne secured the live-in position using an assumed name and fake credentials, telling no one that she’s on the run from a controlling husband who has threatened to take her daughter away.

Daphne’s new life is a far cry from the one she had in Westchester where, just months before, she and her husband welcomed little Chloe. From the start, Daphne tries to be a good mother, but she’s plagued by dark moods and intrusive thoughts that convince her she’s capable of harming her own daughter. When Daphne is diagnosed with Post Partum Mood Disorder, her downward spiral feels unstoppable—until she meets Laurel Hobbes.

Laurel, who also has a daughter named Chloe, is everything Daphne isn’t: charismatic, sophisticated, fearless. They immediately form an intense friendship, revealing secrets to one another they thought they’d never share. Soon, they start to look alike, dress alike, and talk alike, their lives mirroring one another in strange and disturbing ways. But Daphne realizes only too late that being friends with Laurel will come at a very shocking price—one that will ultimately lead her to that towering mansion in the Catskills where terrifying, long-hidden truths will finally be revealed....

 

 

About the Author


Carol Goodman is the critically acclaimed author of fourteen novels, including The Lake of Dead Languages and The Seduction of Water, which won the 2003 Hammett Prize. Her books have been translated into sixteen languages. She lives in the Hudson Valley with her family, and teaches writing and literature at the New School and SUNY New Paltz.

Praise For…


“An atmospheric and harrowing tale, richly literary in complexity but ripe with all the crazed undertones, confusions, and forebodings inherent in the gothic genre. Recommend this riveting, du Maurier–like novel to fans of Jennifer McMahon.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“Chilling...Goodman’s affinity for the dark psychological plot excells in THE OTHER MOTHER.”
— South Florida Sun Sentinel

“This engrossing novel will keep readers eagerly turning the pages.”
— Publishers Weekly

“An engaging read that will appeal to readers of Shari Lapena or Michelle Richmond.”
— Library Journal

“In the spirit of Du Maurier’s Rebecca…A gothic thriller deliciously riddled with dark motives and shadowy paths.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Carol Goodman is, simply put, a stellar writer.”
— Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hunter
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062562647
ISBN-10: 0062562649
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 27th, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English