Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2: With Orchestral Reduction for Second Piano (Paperback)

Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2: With Orchestral Reduction for Second Piano By Johannes Brahms Cover Image


Ambitious in scale, highly original in both content and design, these popular works exhibit Brahms's mastery of the concerto and his role as heir to the classical tradition of Mozart and Beethoven. Both works are marked by drama, elegance, rich orchestral textures, and virtuoso writing for the soloist.
Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15, is a mighty work, featuring a theatrically powerful first movement, a tranquil adagio, and a spirited finale. Concerto No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 83, is a majestic piece that includes a notable departure from the classical tradition: the addition of a scherzo between the opening movement and the andante. Both works appear here in authoritative two-piano editions, featuring the solo part together with an orchestral reduction for second piano, the standard format for learning and practice. In addition, this volume offers pianists the convenience and economy of two major concertos in a single edition.

About the Author

German-born composer Johannes Brahms (1833-97), an important figure of the Romantic era, spent most of his career at the forefront of the Viennese musical scene. A master of counterpoint, he wrote for piano, chamber ensembles, symphony orchestras, and voice.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780486406251
ISBN-10: 0486406253
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: July 16th, 2014
Pages: 208
Language: English