Mrs. Nash's Ashes (Paperback)

Mrs. Nash's Ashes By Sarah Adler Cover Image
$17.00
On Our Shelves Now
Oblong Books - Rhinebeck
2 on hand, as of Sep 28 5:06pm
(FICTION)
Oblong Books - Millerton
3 on hand, as of Sep 28 5:06pm
(FICTION)

Description


A Most Anticipated Summer Read by Today Barnes & NobleBookRiot ∙ GoodReadsCulturess ∙ and more!

A starry-eyed romantic, a cynical writer, and (the ashes of) an elderly woman take the road trip of a lifetime that just might upend everything they believe about true love.


Millicent Watts-Cohen is on a mission. When she promised her elderly best friend that she’d reunite her with the woman she fell in love with nearly eighty years ago, she never imagined that would mean traveling from D.C. to Key West with three tablespoons of Mrs. Nash’s remains in her backpack. But Millie’s determined to give her friend a symbolic happily-ever-after, before it’s (really) too late—and hopefully reassure herself of love’s lasting power in the process.

She just didn’t expect to have a living travel companion.

After a computer glitch grounds flights, Millie is forced to catch a ride with Hollis Hollenbeck, an also-stranded acquaintance from her ex’s MFA program. Hollis certainly does not believe in happily-ever-afters—symbolic or otherwise—and makes it quite clear that he can’t fathom Millie’s plan ending well for anyone.

But as they contend with peculiar bed-and-breakfasts, unusual small-town festivals, and deer with a death wish, Millie begins to suspect that her reluctant travel partner might enjoy her company more than he lets on. Because for someone who supposedly doesn’t share her views on romance, Hollis sure is becoming invested in the success of their journey. And the closer they get to their destination, the more Millie has to admit that maybe this trip isn’t just about Mrs. Nash’s love story after all—maybe it’s also about her own.

About the Author


Sarah Adler writes romantic comedies about lovable weirdos finding their happily ever afters. She lives in Maryland with her husband and daughter and spends an inordinate amount of her time yelling at her mischievous cat to stop opening the kitchen cabinets. Mrs. Nash’s Ashes is her debut novel. You can find her on Twitter (@sarahaadler) and Instagram (@sarahadlerwrites).

Praise For…


“I laughed. I sobbed. I loved it! Soft, sweet, and utterly enchanting, Mrs. Nash’s Ashes by Sarah Adler is a delightfully funny and poignant romance that sticks with you like a warm and gooey cinnamon roll.”
Ashley Poston, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Romantics

"Sarah Adler nails the ultimate rom-com alchemy with her sparkling debut, Mrs. Nash's Ashes. Full of zippy banter, gorgeous prose and tender-hearted characters who give the novel a deep, emotional core, it’s a complete delight."
Carley Fortune, New York Times bestselling author of Every Summer After

"This is a perfect romance novel. I loved this book from the hilarious beginning to the heartwarming and triumphant ending. Mrs. Nash's Ashes is funny, hot, smart, and is so full of love, with a couple I cheered for from page one. I can’t wait to devour everything Sarah Adler writes."
Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of Drunk on Love

"Mrs. Nash's Ashes is instantly addictive! Following the vivacious Millie and scrumptious Hollis on their hilarious road trip into romance is pure romcom gold. Witty, fun, and yet also deeply affecting, this remarkably strong debut from Sarah Adler is sure to win hearts. It certainly won mine, I loved it!"
India Holton, bestselling author of The League of Gentlewomen Witches

Mrs. Nash's Ashes was a total joy to read. Witty, beautifully-written, and laced with sexual tension and suspense that tightens with each twist of Hollis and Millicent's road trip, I expected that I'd be enjoying one romance, but ended up falling in love with two. Extraordinary storytelling.”
Sarah Hogle, author of Just Like Magic

"A delightful debut from Sarah Adler! This is a road-trip romance at its best, with all the forced proximity, unexpected intimacies, and questionable music playlists that come with it. Warm and witty, charming and romantic, Adler took Mrs. Nash’s Ashes—and me—on a journey I didn’t want to end."
Jen DeLuca, USA Today bestselling author of Well Matched

“With an unforgettable voice, Adler crafts a tale full of humor and heart, proving that love sometimes finds us when we least expect it."
Ashley Herring Blake, USA Today bestselling author of Astrid Parker Doesn’t Fail

"Mrs. Nash's Ashes is at turns both zany and heart wrenching, a layered road trip romance with equally fascinating characters who will sink their teeth into your brain and not let go long after you've finished the final page. This is a treasure of a story that lived and breathed inside my heart."
Anita Kelly, author of Something Wild & Wonderful

"Brilliantly constructed and full of unforgettable characters, Mrs. Nash’s Ashes is an unequivocal delight. Sarah Adler’s witty, idiosyncratic voice grabbed me from the first page, and as soon as I finished I was tempted to start all over again. Fans of Emily Henry and Sarah Hogle, you’ve found your newest obsession."
Ava Wilder, author of How to Fake It in Hollywood

“This unforgettable road trip runs on laugh-out-loud humor, deeply felt romance, a profound sense of the unexpected, and classic rock radio—we loved every mile. Millie and Hollis’s perfectly surprising journey with, and to, each other leads them to reckon with grief, trust and hope in this uniquely wonderful debut.”
Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of The Roughest Draft

"A total mood-lifter of a book that charmed me from the first page. Witty, romantic, and full of gorgeous storytelling, I couldn't believe this was Sarah Adler's debut!"
Catherine Walsh, author of Holiday Romance

Mrs. Nash’s Ashes is delightfully a fun and utterly romantic debut. I was charmed by Millie, Hollis, and the titular Mrs. Nash from page one. Adler has it all—fresh characters, fabulous writing, and enormous heart. I can’t wait to read what she writes next.”
Sarah Grunder Ruiz, author of Luck and Last Resorts
 
"Mrs. Nash’s Ashes had me giggling from the very first page. Adler perfectly mixes humor, heart, and steam to create a flawless rom-com. Millie and Hollis are an absolute delight and have joined the ranks as one of my all-time favorite book couples. I laughed out loud throughout the entire book, which I read in one sitting because I couldn't put it down! If you're in the mood for a true rom-com, you cannot go wrong with this book!"
Falon Ballard, author of Lease on Love and Just My Type
 
"With warmth and wit packed into every page, Mrs. Nash's Ashes is a story about loving hard while we have the chance, and how sometimes being vulnerable is the bravest thing we can do. Glimpses of Mrs. Nash's own love story will break your heart a little, but Millie and Hollis's quirky road trip to happily-ever-after will deftly put it back together again. Playful, sexy, and unexpected in the very best way, Sarah Adler is a dazzling new voice in romantic comedy."
Jen Devon, author of Bend Toward the Sun

“With a road trip, only one bed, and giant misunderstandings, Adler perfectly deploys her novel’s abundant romance tropes. Alternating between Millie’s and Mrs. Nash’s stories, this laugh-out-loud funny contemporary will have readers swooning over and cheering for Millie and Hollis....Adler’s delightful opposites-attract debut is perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey and Christina Lauren.”
Library Journal (starred review)

“This grumpy-sunshine romance is an absolute treat, and a superb debut from Sarah Adler…If you’re in the mood to giggle helplessly while falling in love with absurdly endearing characters, then Mrs. Nash’s Ashes will be just what you need, too."
BookPage (starred review)

"Debut author Adler combines heat and sweet in this charmingly offbeat rom-com....Adler’s well-drawn characters leap off the page, and she handles difficult topics with grace. She also shows off her comedy chops in some laugh-out-loud road trip mishaps…This delightful debut is sure to find fans.”
Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593547793
ISBN-10: 0593547799
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English