Artifice (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Artifice By Sharon Cameron Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
Oblong Books - Rhinebeck
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:09pm
(YOUNG ADULT)
Oblong Books - Millerton
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:09pm
(YOUNG ADULT (12+))

Staff Reviews


An absolutely gripping novel about the Dutch Resistance during the Nazi occupation. I couldn't put this down, each page left me wondering what would happen next!

— Emma

Description


A dramatic story of duplicity and resistance, betrayal and loyalty, set against the backdrop of World War II, by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Light in Hidden Places.

Isa de Smit was raised in the vibrant, glittering world of her parents' small art gallery in Amsterdam, a hub of beauty, creativity, and expression, until the Nazi occupation wiped the color from her city's palette. The "degenerate" art of the Gallery de Smit is confiscated, the artists in hiding or deported, her best friend, Truus, fled to join the shadowy Dutch resistance. And masterpiece by masterpiece, the Nazis are buying and stealing her country’s heritage, feeding the Third Reich's ravenous appetite for culture and art.

So when the unpaid taxes threaten her beloved but empty gallery, Isa decides to make the Nazis pay. She sells them a fake--a Rembrandt copy drawn by her talented father--a sale that sets Isa perilously close to the second most hated class of people in Amsterdam: the collaborators. Isa sells her beautiful forgery to none other than Hitler himself, and on the way to the auction, discovers that Truus is part of a resistance ring to smuggle Jewish babies out of Amsterdam.

But Truus cannot save more children without money. A lot of money. And Isa thinks she knows how to get it. One more forgery, a copy of an exquisite Vermeer, and the Nazis will pay for the rescue of the very children they are trying annihilate. To make the sale, though, Isa will need to learn the art of a master forger, before the children can be deported, and before she can be outed as a collaborator. And she finds an unlikely source to help her do it: the young Nazi soldier, a blackmailer and thief of Dutch art, who now says he wants to desert the German army.

Yet, worth is not always seen from the surface, and a fake can be difficult to spot. Both in art, and in people. Based on the true stories of Han Van Meegeren, a master art forger who sold fakes to Hermann Goering, and Johann van Hulst, credited with saving 600 Jewish children from death in Amsterdam, Sharon Cameron weaves a gorgeously evocative thriller, simmering with twists, that looks for the forgotten color of beauty, even in an ugly world.

"War, resistance, and art are Cameron's canvas; her palette is a balance of trust and perfidy, beauty and defiance, new life and old. Artifice is a vibrantly-hued and many-layered story, exploring our very human inability to spot a fake when we long to believe that the object of all our desire is the real thing." -- Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity

* "Painterly prose...filled with rich intrigue depicts constantly shifting issues of trust in this complex, absorbing tale." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

About the Author


Sharon Cameron is the author of the international bestseller and Reese’s Book Club pick The Light in Hidden Places and the critically acclaimed thriller Bluebird. Her debut novel The Dark Unwinding was awarded the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators' Sue Alexander Award for Most Promising New Work and the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award and was named a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection. Sharon is also the author of its sequel, A Spark Unseen; Rook, which was an Indiebound Indie Next List Top Ten selection, a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, and a Parents' Choice gold medalist; and The Forgetting, a #1 New York Times bestseller and an Indie Next Pick of the List selection, as well as its companion novel, The Knowing. She lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee, and you can visit her online at sharoncameronbooks.com or follow her on Instagram at @sharoncameronbooks or on Twitter at @CameronSharonE.

Praise For…


Praise for Artifice

“War, resistance, and art are Cameron’s canvas; her palette is a balance of trust and perfidy, beauty and defiance, new life and old. Artifice is a vibrantly-hued and many-layered story, exploring our very human inability to spot a fake when we long to believe that the object of all our desire is the real thing.” -- Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity

* "Painterly prose...filled with rich intrigue depicts constantly shifting issues of trust in this complex, absorbing tale." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

Praise for Bluebird:

* "Clearly meticulously researched but deeply engaging and immersive, the narrative seamlessly blends fictional characters and events with real people and places. An excellent follow-up to Cameron's The Light in Hidden Places, great for the author's fans and those who ­enjoy books by Monica Hesse, Michelle Barker, and Markus Zusak." -- School Library Journal, starred review

* "The depth of Cameron's research on this historical era results in a completely immersive novel." -- BookPage, starred review

"An important, well-executed work of historical fiction." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Equal parts enthralling and frightening...This sweeping tale is perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys." -- B&N Reads

"A brilliant work inspired by a true story, Bluebird is as intensely thrilling as it is deeply reflective." -- YAHOO! News

"A page-turner until the end." -- Jewish Book Council

Praise for The Light in Hidden Places:

A Reese's Book Club YA Pick

"Beautifully written and meticulously researched. Sharon Cameron captures the extraordinary story of one of history's hidden heroes. Every devastating moment is both gripping and powerful." -- Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea

"Harrowing, heartbreaking, and yet so full of hope." -- Jennifer Donnelly, New York Times bestselling author of Stepsister

"Haunting and lyrical. An incredible true story of bravery, survival, and defiance." -- Alan Gratz, New York Times bestselling author of Refugee

"Sharon Cameron's exciting novel weaves together the lightheartedness, sheer terror, and incredible inner strength of this young woman, my mom. This book exceeds all my expectations." -- Ed Burzminski, son of Stefania Podgórska

* "Authentic writing and well-researched history combined with the gripping and terrifying subject matter make this a must-read for historical fiction fans. Cameron's remarkable, heartbreaking true story of one woman's bravery and selflessness in World War II Poland will intrigue both teens and adult readers." -- School Library Journal, starred review

* "Cameron's wide-ranging research and deft storytelling abilities combine to create an astoundingly authentic first-person narration. Her exquisite prose conveys in riveting detail exactly what it was like for Stefania to live through the horrors she witnessed." -- BookPage, starred review

"A true story of faith, love, and heroism. [Cameron] deftly details Stefania's brave actions and includes moving family photographs in the author's note... Readers will be pulled in by the compelling opening and stay for the emotional journey. An inspirational read." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Empowered by thorough research -- an author's note details events after the war -- Cameron successfully conveys horror and bravery in this powerful and captivating novel. A memorable read." -- Booklist

"Cameron's novel is heartbreakingly real in its attention to detail and its ability to pack emotional punches." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This story of extraordinary survival is bolstered by an author's note, accompanied by photos." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for The Knowing:

* "Both a politically charged adventure and culture study, this thought-provoking dystopia stands firmly on its own." -- Booklist, starred review

"Diverse, well-drawn characters abound, but in the riveting power struggles that ensue, women are dominant players, ruthless ideologues willing to sacrifice all that interferes with the goal. The intricately woven narrative threads come together in a suspenseful denouement sure to leave readers hoping for another installment." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Wildly inventive yet somehow believable. . . For all of its fantastical elements . . . this companion novel is ultimately a story about two teenagers, Samara and Beckett, finding their places in the world, managing familial and societal expectations, and falling in love. Cameron is a writer of prime caliber." -- School Library Journal

Praise for The Forgetting:

A #1 New York Times bestseller

An Indiebound Indie Next List selection

* "Effective worldbuilding and strong characterization . . . A well-crafted fable for our time." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "This fantasy is a marvelous achievement." -- School Library Journal, starred review

"[An] absorbing adventure." -- Publishers Weekly

"The Forgetting is Sharon Cameron's fourth young adult novel, and she's grown adept at blurring the lines between fantasy, dystopian and science-fiction genres. Cameron reminds us, through Nadia's documented memories, that we must learn to appreciate the truth as much as question it, exploring the morality tucked within the fallacy of memory." -- Bookpage, Top Pick

Praise for Rook:

A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection

An Indiebound Indie Next Top Ten selection

Winner of the Parents' Choice Gold Award

"The suspense kicks right off in this action-packed tale, quickly wrapping readers up in the drama." -- Romantic Times

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Cameron crafts a brilliant homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel yet also manages to make her telling unique, particularly in... the many twists, turns, betrayals, and lucky breaks [that] will keep readers breathless until the very end." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Rook is sure to be a read all readers will remember." -- Portland Book Review

Praise for The Dark Unwinding:

A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection

Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award

"Utterly original, romantic, and spellbindingly imaginative." -- USA Today

"Haunting thrills unfurl." -- Entertainment Weekly

"Gripping twists, rich language, and an evocative landscape." -- Publishers Weekly

"[A] singularly polished piece." -- The Horn Book

"A strikingly original, twisty gothic tale that holds surprises around every dark corner." -- Judy Blundell, author of What I Saw and How I Lied

Praise for A Spark Unseen:

"Gripping... [an] absorbing, intelligent adventure." -- Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338813951
ISBN-10: 1338813951
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
Pages: 416
Language: English