The Rise: 1968 (Exploring Civil Rights) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Rise: 1968 (Exploring Civil Rights) By Jay Leslie Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now


Learn about the key events of the civil rights movement in the latest installment of this exciting and informative series.

The year 1968 was one of progress and loss in the civil rights movement. In February, the Memphis Worker’s Strike showed African American men protesting with powerful “I Am a Man” signs. The world stopped in April when Martin Luther King, Jr., was assassinated in Memphis, Tennessee. That same month, President Johnson expanded the historic Civil Rights Act of 1964 by implementing the Fair Housing Act to further prohibit against discrimination. And in May, 2,700 Black Americans established “Resurrection City,” an encampment near the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC, in a 6-week long protest against the US government’s inaction on poverty.

This detailed account explains why 1968 was such a critical year in the civil rights movement.


The years from 1967 to 1978 were critical to the civil rights movement. Resistance was often met with violence against Black Americans struggling to end discrimination and segregation. Yet the courage of those yearning for equal opportunities under the law continued to persevere and set the stage for even more progress in the coming decades. Discover how this specific time period brought about change and how it still affects us as a society today.

With stunning photographs throughout and rich back matter, each book focuses on a specific year and chronologically follows the detailed events that occurred and the changes that took place.

About the Author

Jay Leslie is a writer who cares about revolution. Her other books include Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and EntrepreneursWho Revolutionized the World and Game, Set, Sisters! The Story of Venus and Serena Williams. Connect with Jay at
Product Details
ISBN: 9781338837575
ISBN-10: 1338837575
Publisher: Franklin Watts
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Pages: 96
Language: English
Series: Exploring Civil Rights