The Ten Thousand Doors of January (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$40.00
Available in our Warehouse: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


January Scaller lives between worlds. One half of her heart rests with her father, away on impossible and far-off adventures; and the other resides in the manor of the wealthy Mr. Locke, his hallways full of things as odd as January herself. But as January discovers just where Mr. Locke's collection comes from, and devours a story that sounds peculiarly like her own, she might just decide that a life between worlds is where she belongs. This magical coming-of-age adventure combines the power of stories with a sharp commentary on how we treat the world. I couldn't put it down!

— Nicole

This is one of the most beautiful books I have read in years. January Scaller is an amazing character with a fresh voice. The story is full of wonder and humor and love of many kinds. For fans of Erin Morgenstern, Naomi Novik, Katherine Howe, and Neil Gaiman. I loved this book and so did my husband.

— Lisa

September 2019 Indie Next List


“This is one of the most beautifully written pieces of magical fiction I’ve ever read. I was obsessed with the book within the first two pages. Take an unforgettable journey with January Scaller through doors of lost worlds and heart-wrenching love stories. This book shows just how much power a story can hold, especially with the right storyteller at the helm. I could re-read this book countless times and still find new treasures that speak to me!”
— Alexa Butler, Beach Books, Seaside, OR

Description


In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut. In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she feels little different from the artifacts that decorate the halls: carefully maintained, largely ignored, and utterly out of place. Then she finds a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds, and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure and danger. Each page turn reveals impossible truths about the world and January discovers a story increasingly entwined with her own.Lush and richly imagined, a tale of impossible journeys, unforgettable love, and the enduring power of stories awaits in Alix E. Harrow's spellbinding debut--step inside and discover its magic. Early praise for The Ten Thousand Doors of January: Many worlds, vanishing doors, mind-cracking magic: I clung to each page, searching for answers. This is one of the most unique works of fiction I've ever read --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling authorA gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers and the doors they lead us through...absolutely enchanting. -- Christina Henry, national bestselling author of Lost Boys and AliceWith lush writing and a sense of wonder, The Ten Thousand Doors of January examines power, progress, and identity. It is an adventure in the best and grandest sense. --Erika Swyler, national bestselling author of The Book of Speculation.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781549101069
ISBN-10: 1549101064
Publisher: Redhook
Publication Date: September 10th, 2019
Language: English