Peak 40: The New Science of Mid-Life Health for a Leaner, Stronger Body and a Sharper Mind (Paperback)

Peak 40: The New Science of Mid-Life Health for a Leaner, Stronger Body and a Sharper Mind Cover Image
$19.95
Available in our Warehouse: Usually Ships in 3-8 Days

Description


Work smarter, not harder.

The first guide to truly holistic health and fitness for those in their 40s

From Tom Brady to Serena Williams, Tiger Woods and Roger Federer athletes are increasingly peaking later in their careers.

Let Dr Marc Bubbs be your personal trainer in this accessible guide-- aimed exclusively at those in their 40s. Create a customized program that works for YOU--from diet, to sleep, type of training and mindset, this book has all the tools you need.

Peak 40 is for anyone wanting to rediscover the best version of themselves coming into their 40s. Author Dr Marc Bubbs is a performance nutritionist with a portfolio of professional and Olympic athletes - but he is also the dad of three girls, all under 7 Dr. Bubbs is here with you, in the eye of the mid-life storm, and he has created the ultimate book to help you through it.

For fans of Joe Wicks and Michael Mosley, Dr. Bubbs offers simple, evidence-based and time-efficient strategies to help you reignite your energy and passion. His realistic, grown-up and non-judgemental approach is to explain the effect some food groups and lack of exercise and sleep have on our body. The information presented is easy to digest and he offers advice that can be tailored to your body and personality type. In his expert opinion, small changes such as 'not eating after 8pm for five out of seven days' can have a big impact on weight loss and positive mood. Rather than eliminating certain food groups like fats and carbohydrates, he looks at 'turning the dial' on them depending on individual needs. If life has become too sedentary, he provides ways to increase suppleness so that you can start to reintroduce movement into your life without causing pain.

Guiding us through the myriad of confusion lifestyle messages, Dr. Bubbs teaches us:

  • How to increase flexibility
  • How to train with achy joints, knees, back, shoulders...
  • Whether a plant-based diet is right
  • How to maintain bone health
  • Whether to lift weights
  • Who should do HIIT (and who shouldn't)
  • The importance of glucose control in your diet
  • Advice on dealing with anxiety and low mood
  • How to set realistic expectations

Bubbs] dives into the nutrition and science--where it's been and where it's heading.--Zack Bitter, world record-holding ultra marathoner, as heard on The Joe Rogan Experience

Dr. Bubbs's advice on nutrition, health, and recovery for peak performance has been a game changer --Kevin Pangos, point guard, Barcelona FC Basketball

Product Details
ISBN: 9781645020738
ISBN-10: 1645020738
Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing Company
Publication Date: May 20th, 2021
Pages: 240
Language: English