Sonata No. 4 for violin and piano: Down Memory Lane... Score and part (Paperback)

Sonata No. 4 for violin and piano: Down Memory Lane... Score and part By Dmitri N. Smirnov Cover Image
Available in our Warehouse: Usually Ships in 3-8 Days


Dmitri Smirnov's Violin Sonata No. 4 subtitled "Down Memory Lane..." is written in August 2005, in St Albans. This is a one-movement composition, built as a series of musical memories, reflecting the relationship of two contrasting musical ideas. They change their appearance almost beyond recognition. The form of the work is a free fantasy, combining the features of the sonata, rondo and variations. It is premiered on the 22nd of January 2009 in London by Darragh Morgan, violin, and Mary Dullea, piano.

About the Author

Dmitri Nikolaevich Smirnov (pen names Dmitri N. Smirnov and D. Smirnov-Sadovsky) is a Russian and British composer. He was born in 1948 in Minsk into a family of opera singers Nikolay Senkin-Sadovsky and Eugenia Smirnova. He studied at the Moscow Conservatory 1967-1972 under Nikolai Sidelnikov, Yuri Kholopov and Edison Denisov. He also studied privately with Philip Herschkowitz, a pupil of both Berg and Webern. Since 1991 Smirnov has been resident of England. He was a Fellow at University of Cambridge, St John's College, a Composer-in-Residence in Dartington, and Visiting Professor at Keele University (1993-8). In 1998 Smirnov and his family settled in St Albans. From 2003 he has taught at the Goldsmiths College, University of London. He is married to the composer Elena Firsova. Their children are Philip Firsov (an artist and sculptor), and Alissa Firsova (a composer, pianist and conductor).
Product Details
ISBN: 9781724322630
ISBN-10: 172432263X
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: July 25th, 2018
Pages: 36
Language: English