Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead Cover Image
$34.99
Available in our Warehouse: Usually Ships in 3-8 Days

Staff Reviews


Gilda's overwhelming anxiety means she doesn't get to have much of a say in her own life. This comic novel is an absolute gem - I fell in love with Gilda and you will too!

— Suzanna

July 2021 Indie Next List


“Gilda never wants to disappoint anyone, which is exactly how she ends up with a job as a secretary at a Catholic church. As a gay atheist, it's problematic. Alternatively hilarious and tragic, Gilda’s story is one that stays with you.”
— Laura Cummings, White Birch Books, North Conway, NH

Description


This hilarious and profound debut for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, follows a morbidly anxious young woman--"the kindhearted heroine we all need right now" (Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author)--who stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and becomes obsessed with her predecessor's mysterious death.Gilda, a twenty-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she's there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace. In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace's old friend. She can't bear to ignore the kindly old woman, who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can't bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace's death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence. A delightful blend of warmth, deadpan humor, and pitch-perfect observations about the human condition, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling exploration of what it takes to stay afloat in a world where your expiration--and the expiration of those you love--is the only certainty.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797123370
ISBN-10: 1797123378
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: July 6th, 2021
Language: English