Butterfly Yellow (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Butterfly Yellow Cover Image
By Thanhha Lại, Lulu Lam (Read by)
$29.99
Available in our Warehouse: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Butterfly Yellow takes you on the beautiful journey of Hang as she arrives in America. The friendships she makes are heartwarming, and seeing her journey as a character was a true joy. The intertwining stories of the characters will leave the pages of your book with drops of tears, both happy and sad. Hang's strength and determination is encouraging for anyone who is struggling with their past.

— Emma

Description


Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again.

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.

Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn't know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her.

Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn't remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781982687472
ISBN-10: 1982687479
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Language: English