Book Signing: James Reginato - GROWING UP GETTY @ Tent

Event date: 
Saturday, July 16, 2022 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
Tent New York
4950 Route 22
Amenia, NY 12501
 

Refreshments will be served. RSVP Requested

RSVP HERE

Join author James Reginato for a book signing hosted by Darren Henault and Tent to celebrate his new biography GROWING UP GETTY - an enthralling and comprehensive look into the contemporary state of one of the wealthiest—and most misunderstood—family dynasties in the world, perfect for fans of Succession, The House of Gucci, The Cartiers, and Fortune’s Children.

James ReginatoGrowing up Getty by James Reginato

Through extensive research, including access to J. Paul Getty’s diaries and love letters, and fresh interviews with family members and friends, Growing Up Getty offers an inside look into the benefits and burdens of being part of today’s world of the ultra-wealthy.

“Reginato’s meticulously researched and beautifully written account takes the reader deep into the lives of the charismatic and elusive clan that comprises the `House of Getty,’ piercing the myths that have surrounded some of its protagonists for decades and introducing us to others for the first time.”
—Sara Gay Forden, New York Times bestselling author of The House of Gucci

James Reginato, a writer-at-large for Vanity Fair and a contributor to Sotheby’s magazine, was formerly the features director for W magazine. He is the author of Great Houses, Modern Aristocrats, and The Carlyle.

Copies of Growing up Getty will be available for purchase from Oblong Books at this event.


Growing Up Getty: The Story of  America's Most Unconventional Dynasty By James Reginato Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982120986
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - July 5th, 2022

Oil magnate J. Paul Getty, once the richest man in the world, is the patriarch of an extraordinary cast of sons, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren. While some have been brought low by mental illness, drug addiction, and one of the most sensational kidnapping cases of the 20th century, many of Getty’s heirs have achieved great success. In addition to Mark Getty, a cofounder of Getty Images, and Anne G. Earhart, an award-winning environmentalist, others have made significant marks in a variety of fields, from music and viniculture to politics and LGBTQ rights.

Now, across four continents, a new generation of lively, unique, and even outrageous Gettys are emerging, and not coasting on the dynasty’s still-immense wealth. August Getty designs extravagant gowns worn by Katy Perry, Cher, and other stars; his sibling, Nats—a fellow LGBTQ rights activist who announced his gender transition following his wedding to transgender icon Gigi Gorgeous—produces a line of exclusive streetwear. Their fascinating cousins include Balthazar, a multi-hyphenate actor-director-DJ-designer, and Isabel, a singer-songwriter-MBA candidate. A far-flung yet surprisingly close-knit group, the ascendant Gettys are bringing this iconic family onto the global stage in the 21st century.


Growing Up Getty: The Story of America's Most Unconventional Dynasty By James Reginato, Kevin R. Free (Read by) Cover Image
$39.99
This item is not currently available to order.
ISBN: 9781797141701
Published: Simon & Schuster Audio - July 5th, 2022

Great Houses, Modern Aristocrats By James Reginato, Jonathan Becker (Photographs by), Viscount Linley (Foreword by) Cover Image
By James Reginato, Jonathan Becker (Photographs by), Viscount Linley (Foreword by)
$60.00
ISBN: 9780847848980
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rizzoli - October 4th, 2016