Bradford Pearson, THE EAGLES OF HEART MOUNTAIN: A True Story of Football, Incarceration, and Resistance in World War II America

Event date: 
Saturday, September 24, 2022 - 10:00am
Event address: 
The Pavilion @ Brookmeade
46 Brookmeade Drive
Rhinebeck, NY 12572

Presented in partnership with The Pavilion at Brookmeade and the Rhinebeck Chamber. 

FREE. RSVP Required.

RSVP HERE

“One of Ten Best History Books of 2021.” —Smithsonian Magazine

Author Bradford Pearson will talk about his impeccably researched, deeply moving, never-before-told story about a World War II incarceration camp in Wyoming and its extraordinary high school football team. For fans of The Boys in the Boat and The Storm on Our Shores.

Bradford PearsonThe Eagles of Heart Mountain by Bradford Pearson

In the spring of 1942, the United States government forced 120,000 Japanese Americans from their homes in California, Oregon, Washington, and Arizona and sent them to incarceration camps across the West. Nearly 14,000 of them landed on the outskirts of Cody, Wyoming, at the base of Heart Mountain.

Bradford Pearson is the former features editor of Southwest: The Magazine. He has written for The New York Times, Esquire, Time, and Salon, among many other publications. He grew up in Hyde Park, New York, and now lives in Philadelphia. The Eagles of Heart Mountain is his first book.
 
Copies of The Eagles of Heart Mountain will be available for purchase at this event from Oblong Books.

The Eagles of Heart Mountain: A True Story of Football, Incarceration, and Resistance in World War II America By Bradford Pearson Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781982107048
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - November 2nd, 2021