Hudson Valley YA Society: Out of This World!

Event date: 
Sunday, April 17, 2016 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
6422 Montgomery Street
Rhinebeck, NY 12572

This event will be held at Oblong Books & Music, 6422 Montgomery St., Rhinebeck, NY.

RSVP Requested - RSVP Here or on Facebook!

Hudson Valley YA Society welcomes authors Sarah Rees Brennan, Heidi Heilig and Heather Demetrios with their stunning new fantasy YA novels!

Celebrated author Sarah Rees Brennan weaves a magical tale of romance and revolution, love and loss in her new novel - TELL THE WIND AND FIRE. In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets. Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself? Sarah Rees Brennan is the New York Times best-selling author of fantasy novels for teens including The Demon's Lexicon, a YALSA Top Ten Books for Young Adults, and The Bane Chronicles, co-authored with Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson. 

Heidi Heilig's debut fantasy - THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE - sweeps from modern-day New York City, to nineteenth-century Hawaii, to places of myth and legend. Sixteen-year-old Nix has sailed across the globe and through centuries aboard her time-traveling father's ship. But when he gambles with her very existence, it all may be about to end. This first of two books, blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility. Its witty, fast-paced dialogue, breathless adventure, multicultural cast, and enchanting romance will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman. Heidi grew up in Hawaii where she rode horses and raised peacocks, and then she moved to New York City and grew up even more, as one tends to do. Her favorite thing, outside of writing, is travel, and she has haggled for rugs in Morocco, hiked the trails of the Ko'olau Valley, and huddled in a tent in Africa while lions roared in the dark.

Heather Demetrios' BLOOD PASSAGE is the electrifying second book in the Dark Caravan Cycle — a modern jinni fantasy-adventure trilogy, perfect for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy. When Heather isn't traipsing around the world or spending time in imaginary places, she lives with her husband in New York City. Originally from Los Angeles, she now calls the East Coast home. Heather received her MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and is a recipient of the PEN New England Susan P. Bloom Discovery Award for her debut young adult novel, Something Real. She is the founder of Live Your What, an organization dedicated to fostering passion in people of all ages and creating writing opportunities for youth of limited economic means.