Hudson Valley YA Society: Summer Debuts - Rebecca Kim Wells & Rory Power

Event date: 
Sunday, August 11, 2019 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
Oblong Rhinebeck
6422 Montgomery Street
Rhinebeck, NY 12572

RSVP Requested. CLICK HERE to RSVP

This summer sees the emergence of two new names in YA fiction - both friends, and both destined to become firm fan favorites!

Rory Powers  Rebecca Kim Wells

Rory Power's WILDER GIRLS is a mind-bending novel about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement when one disappears. This fresh, new debut has been called a feminist Lord of the Flies unlike anything you've read before!

"Celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph." --Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

In Rebecca Kim Wells' SHATTER THE SKY, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor’s coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold. This stunning fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

"An extremely welcome addition to YA’s queer fantasy canon." Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights

Oblong Books & Music in Rhinebeck is a fully wheelchair accessible space with on-site van accessible parking. Microphones and speakers will not] be used at this event but can be made available with advance notice. If you have specific questions about the space or how an event can be made more accessible to you, please do not hesitate to contact us: info@oblongbooks.com.