Hudson Valley YA Society: Dhonielle Clayton, Ben Philippe & Shannon Dunlap

Event date: 
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
Oblong Rhinebeck
6422 Montgomery Street
Rhinebeck, NY 12572

RSVP Requested. CLICK HERE to RSVP

Join us in March for three great YA authors with their amazing new books!

Dhonielle ClaytonDhonielle Clayton will be here with the follow up her New York Times bestseller THE BELLES and the second book in the trilogy - THE EVERLASTING ROSE. With a price on her head, the evil Queen Sophia out for blood, and no idea who to trust, Camellia Beaureguard, the former favorite Belle, must race against time to find the ailing Princess Charlotte, who has disappeared without a trace. Dhonielle Clayton spent most of her childhood under her grandmother’s table with a stack of books. She earned an MA in Children’s Literature from Hollins University and an MFA in Writing for Children at the New School. She is a librarian at Harlem Village Academies, is one of the #WeNeedDiverseBooks librarians, and co-founder of CAKE Literary, a creative kitchen whipping up decadent — and decidedly diverse — literary confections for middle grade, young adult, and women’s fiction readers!

 Ben PhillippeBen Philippe's THE FIELD GUIDE TO THE NORTH AMERICAN TEENAGER is a hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green. Ben holds a B.A. from Columbia University (2011) and an M.F.A. in Fiction & Screenwriting from the Michener Center for Writers at the University of Texas, Austin (2014). He's covered covered Media & Culture for Vanity Fair, Observer, The A.V. Club, The Guardian, Thrillist and more. He currently teacher at Barnard College.

Shannon DunlapShannon Dunlap's IZZY + TRISTAN is an Indies Introduce Pick for winter/Spring 2019! Izzy, a practical-minded teen who intends to become a doctor, isn't happy about her recent move from the Lower East Side across the river to Brooklyn. She feels distanced from her family, especially her increasingly incomprehensible twin brother, as well as her new neighborhood. And then she meets Tristan... Shannon was inspired to write Izzy + Tristan not only by her love of Tristan and Iseult, but by a fantastic documentary, Brooklyn Castle, about kids on a chess team at an inner city middle school in Kings County. She is a graduate of the MFA program at New York University. Previously, she was a weekly columnist for The Phnom Penh Post and her work appears in the anthology How Does One Dress to Buy Dragonfruit?: True Stories of Expat Women in Asia (Signal 8 Press).

The Belles Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781484732519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Freeform - February 5th, 2019