OBLONG ONLINE: Women in Suspense - Aimee Molloy & Nicola Maye Goldberg in conversation with Carol Goodman

Event date: 
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
via Crowdcast

This online event is free. Your purchase of a book helps support the author and our independent bookstore and is greatly appreciated. Shipping or contactless curbside pickup available.


Are you a fan of suspense? Then you'll love these two new novels. At this event, Aimee Molloy author of GOODNIGHT BEAUTIFUL & Nicola Maye Goldberg, author of NOTHING CAN HURT YOU will talk with fellow suspense author, and 2020 Mary Higgins Clark Award recipient for The Night Visitors,  Carol Goodman about their books and what it takes to write a really good thriller!

Aimee MolloyGoodnight Beautiful by Aimee Molloy

Aimee Molloy is the author of the biography However Long the Night: Molly Melching's Journey to Help Millions of African Women and Girls Triumph. Her debut novel, The Perfect Mother, was a New York Times bestseller, and has been translated into more than twenty languages. Her new novel, Goodnight Beautiful, is an irresistible psychological thriller featuring a newly married woman whose life is turned upside down when her husband goes missing. It is a thrilling tale of domestic suspense that questions assumptions and defies expectations showcasing Molloy’s deft ability to subvert norms. The novel culminates in the kind of stunning twist that is becoming her trademark.

"What begins as a sexy, smart domestic thriller turns out to be so much more. If you think you've figured this one out, think again: Molloy will be three steps ahead of you all the way through.” - Cristina Alger, Girls Like Us

Nicola Maye GoldbergNothing Can Hurt You by Nicola Maye Goldberg

Nicole Maye Goldberg is a graduate of Bard College and Columbia University. She is the author of the novella Other Women (Sad Spell Press, 2016) and the poetry collection The Doll Factory (Dancing Girl Press, 2017). Her work has appeared in CrimeReads, The Quietus, Queen Mob's Tea House, Winter Tangerine, and elsewhere. Her debut novel is a propulsive, taut tale of voyeurism and obsession, Nothing Can Hurt You dares to examine gendered violence not as an anomaly, but as the very core of everyday life. Tracing the concentric circles of violence rippling out from Sara's murder, Nicola Maye Goldberg masterfully conducts an unforgettable chorus of disparate voices.

Gone Girl for the new decade.” -Vogue.com

Carol Goodman



Carol Goodman is the author of twenty-one novels, including The Lake of Dead Languages and The Seduction of Water, which won the 2003 Hammett Prize, and The Widow’s House, which won the 2018 Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her books have been translated into sixteen languages. She lives in the Hudson Valley with her family, and teaches literature and writing at The New School and SUNY New Paltz.