Priya Parmar @ Hammertown Barn, Pine Plains

Event date: 
Sunday, July 26, 2015 - 12:30pm
Event address: 
The Hammertown Barn
3201 Route 199
Pine Plains, NY

This event will be held at The Hammertown Barn, 3201 Route 199, Pine Plains, NY, 518-398-7075

Share this event with your friends on Facebook!

What if Virginia Woolf’s sister had kept a diary? For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a spellbinding new story of the inseparable bond between Virginia and her sister, the gifted painter Vanessa Bell, and the real-life betrayal that threatened to destroy their family. Hailed by The New York Times Book Review as “an uncanny success” and based on meticulous research, this stunning novel illuminates a little-known episode in the celebrated sisters’ glittering bohemian youth among the legendary Bloomsbury Group.Vanessa and Her Sister exquisitely captures the champagne-heady days of prewar London and the extraordinary lives of the sisters Bell & Woolf.

“Rarely do you encounter a woman who commands as much admiration as does the painter Vanessa Bell in Priya Parmar’s multilayered, subtly shaded novel. . . . Parmar’s fabricated journal is an uncanny success. Its entries, plausible and graceful, are imbued with the same voice that can be found in letters by or about Vanessa. . . . Parmar gives truth and definition to the character of a woman whose nature was as elusive as her influence was profound. She has caught the phantom.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“In her gossipy, entertaining historical novel about the British bohemians, Priya Parmar conjures a devastating fictional portrait of one of those triangles—the great writer Virginia Woolf; her sister, the painter Vanessa Bell; and Vanessa’s husband, art critic Clive Bell. . . . Parmar’s perceptive and well-informed fill-in-the-blanks approach—and her elegant, accessible style—makes for some tasty, frothy Bloomsbury pie, indeed.”USA Today

Educated at Mount Holyoke College, the University of Edinburgh, and the University of Oxford, Priya Parmar is the author of one previous novel, Exit the Actress. She divides her time between Hawaii and

Vanessa and Her Sister Cover Image
Email us for price & availability: info@oblongbooks.com
ISBN: 9780804176378
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Ballantine Books - December 30th, 2014

We appreciate your continued support!

If you would like to make a donation to help us through CLICK HERE.