Oblong Online: Hudson Valley YA Society Celebrates PRIDE!

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
ET via Zoom

Free. Registration required.
For Ages 12 and up.

Missed the event? WATCH IT HERE

Moderated by Oblong Books' Fred Rossero
Featuring authors

Ashley Woodfolk, NOTHING BURNS AS BRIGHT AS YOU
Tucker Shaw, WHEN YOU CALL MY NAME
Rachel Lippincott & Alyson Derrick, SHE GETS THE GIRL
and Andrew Joseph White, HELL FOLLOWED WITH US

From New York Times bestselling author Ashley WoodfolkNothing Burns as Bright as You is an impassioned stand-alone tale of queer love, grief, and the complexity of female friendship. Two girls. One wild and reckless day. Years of tumultuous history unspooling like a thin, fraying string in the hours after they set a fire. They were best friends. Until they became more. Their affections grew. Until the blurry lines became dangerous.

In the spirit of the author’s massively popular Twitter thread, Tucker Shaw’s When You Call My Name is a heartrending novel about two gay teens coming of age in New York City in 1990 at the height of the HIV/AIDS epidemic, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Mary H. K. Choi. Film fanatic Adam is seventeen and being asked out on his first date―and the guy is cute. Heart racing, Adam accepts, quickly falling in love with Callum like the movies always promised.

She’s All That meets What If It’s Us in this swoon-worthy hate-to-love YA romantic comedy from #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Five Feet Apart Rachael Lippincott and debut writer Alyson Derrick. Alex Blackwood is a little bit headstrong, with a dash of chaos and a whole lot of flirt. She knows how to get the girl. Keeping her on the other hand…not so much. Molly Parker has everything in her life totally in control, except for her complete awkwardness with just about anyone besides her mom. She knows she’s in love with the impossibly cool Cora Myers. She just…hasn’t actually talked to her yet.

A furious, queer debut novel from author Andrew Joseph White about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation. Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon they infected him with.


Staff Pick Badge
Nothing Burns as Bright as You Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780358655350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - April 5th, 2022

When You Call My Name Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250624864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

She Gets the Girl Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534493797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 5th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Hell Followed with Us Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781682633243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Peachtree Teen - June 7th, 2022